Image

Lavender in the Air

It’s been over 6 months since I’ve been in Australia and 3 1/2 months have been dedicated to working on a lovely Lavender Farm in Shepherd’s Flat in Victoria. My time at the farm is coming to an end in a week. So here is a short & sweet simple look at my time at Lavandula.

I started work at the end of December, prime time for the lavender season. As you enter the farm you can smell the flowering lavender in the air. The main type of lavender grown at the farm is an English Lavender called “Miss Donnington”, has a high dose of oil which is used for products and culinary goodies at the farm.

fullsizeoutput_1d
You must go through the barn to get to the lavender scones
Image 2017-03-12 at 7.59 AM
The purple haze at the beginning of the season 
Image 2017-04-04 at 3.06 PM
At the end of the season, all good things come to an end… for now
Image 2017-04-11 at 10.35 AM
Autumn Rainbow
Image 2017-03-12 at 8.03 AM
You may wonder, how do we process the Lavender?
Image 2017-04-11 at 10.51 AM
Well, first you harvest the lavender by hand…
Image 2017-04-11 at 10.31 AM
Then you bunch the lavender while the bees are still determined to get that nectar, let me tell you there’s no shortage of bees when the lavender is in flower
Image 2017-03-16 at 6.27 PM
Hang it upside down and let it dry…
Image 2017-03-16 at 6.46 PM
Once dried, you winnow the lavender which I became a self-acclaimed master at. The side effects are; a lavender high every 3 hours and guaranteed to be covered in dust by the end of your shift

I enjoyed my time at the farm, got to work with the Lavender plant and learn a bit about it. The main reason for working at the farm is to bank the regional work hours towards my second year visa. I got to do different jobs at Lavandula which was great, you get an idea of all that it takes to run the show on the surface level. I heard about Lavandula prior to my arrival in Oz, a friend who visited the farm recommended me to check it out, as soon as I saw the pictures I wanted to work at Lavandula, I emailed, I called, and even showed up at the farm in hopes I would work here, glad it worked out in my favour. I have to say doing my farm work here is a cozy experience compared to the horrific stories you hear from other backpackers. I have completed my required regional hours a few weeks ago and now I am doing another type of work for the farm, one of the things that I absolutely love to do, taking photos…

Image 2017-04-10 at 8.05 PM
Leaving my temporary mark at Lavandula
6 thoughts on “Lavender in the Air

  1. We’re sure going to miss you, Sue. Great photography, can-do attitude and your sunny smile will be missed. Keep up the good work. I’m sure you’ll be successful! Jack

    Like

  2. You are an amazing photographer Sue and you will definitely leave your mark here at Lavandula! I have had many great laughs with you which I am going to miss 😌

    Maybe I’ll come visit you in Melbourne? 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

